Will Morrison, CFP®, CPA Rooted Planning Group

Contact this advisor

About Will Morrison, CFP®, CPA

I would say I took a non-traditional path to get my college degree. I went to a couple of different colleges prior to running out of money. I then worked as an over the road truck driver for 3 years to save money to finish my degree. I’ve always loved an adventure, and life on the road gave me adventure and also a path to save money.

I earned my undergraduate and graduate degrees in accounting, earned my Certified Public Accountant (CPA) after graduation. I worked as an auditor and fraud investigator for several years prior to getting into education.

For the past 10 years, I have taught accounting and finance at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. I teach financial planning classes to students who want to be financial planners. Many students get internships that recruiters call “financial planning”, but all they do is sell to people. I’m fortunate to get to teach them what “real financial planning” can truly be.

One of the great things about teaching is how much I learn from the people I am teaching. This is really my inspiration for getting into financial planning. I get to meet such a diverse group of people each semester and they will ask me financial questions relating to personal/family issues. I started to realize that I had the ability to help people with this knowledge that I had. This led me to down the path of getting my Certified Financial Planner (CFP) certification which I received in April of 2019.

My goal in financial planning is to help clients achieve a better life. There is a common misconception that the only people who need financial planners are people with a lot of money. I believe that financial planning can help anyone, regardless of the amount of money they have, to live their best lives. I want clients to know when they work with me, they are working with someone who is dedicated to putting their interests first. We don’t just plan for retirement, we plan for tomorrow, for 5 years from now, for 15 years from now, etc. I believe that the sooner people start working with a financial planner, the better. 22 years old and just graduated from college? Perfect!

In my spare time, I spend time with my family: my wife Ginger, my three children, and our dog Rosie (Corgi). We love a road trip and try to visit Yellowstone National Park each summer. We also camp around Northern Wisconsin, Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, and our favorite place Washington Island. I also practice judo, serve as president of my local elementary school PTA, and serve as a Cubmaster of a Cub Scout Pack.

Contact this advisor

Ideal Clients

  • Cash Flow/Budgeting
  • Gen Y/Millennials
  • Recent Graduates
  • Young Professionals

Ways Advisor Charges

  • Monthly Fee
  • Quarterly Fee
  • Flat Fee
  • Hourly
  • Assets Under Management

Fee Options

  • Monthly Fee: $125+/mo
  • Quarterly Fee: $375+/qtr
  • Flat Fee: $1,500+/engagement
  • Hourly Fee: $200+/hr
  • AUM: 1.0%

SEC Records

States Registered

  • Wisconsin